About MSNJ

    Continuing Medical Education



    Licensed physicians are required by law to earn credits in continuing medical education in order to maintain their medical licenses. For license renewal, physicians must complete 100 credits of continuing medical education (CME) during each renewal period, forty (40) of which must be AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™, the remaining sixty (60) can be AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™ 1 or 2. MSNJ can help members sort through the regulatory requirements.

    AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™ is designated by providers accredited by either MSNJ, the ACCME (Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education) or by another state medical society. AMA PRA Category 2 Credit™ can be claimed for activities that are self-directed learning experiences that improve patient care. Examples include: reading authoritative peer-reviewed literature and consulting with colleagues. Refer to AMA’s Eligibility Requirements for specifics concerning activities that qualify for either AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™ or AMA PRA Category 2 Credit™.

    Physicians are required to maintain records - copies of AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™ awards, certificates or transcripts - for six years. A log/journal should be kept for AMA PRA Category 2 Credit™. An example sufficient for record-keeping of AMA PRA Category 2 Credit™ can be found in MSNJ’s Physician Recognition Award Application.

    MSNJ is recognized by the ACCME to accredit intrastate providers of continuing medical education. See the current list of MSNJ accredited providers. Your membership in the Medical Society of New Jersey helps to support the CME Accreditation Program, whose mission is to assure quality CME for New Jersey physicians.




    "The New Jersey Board of Medical Examiners requires 100 continuing medical education credits, of which at least 40 of such credits shall be in Category I. Commencing with this biennial renewal period which started on July 1, 2013, two of the 40 credits in Category 1 courses shall, pursuant to P.L. 2011, c. 145 (C.45:9-7.7), be in programs or topics related to End-of Life care."

    MSNJ has made arrangements with an on-line resource (Education in Palliative and End-of-life Care) for you to obtain the credits needed via long distance learning - and at a 15% discount to members. MSNJ members, please click here to obtain the promo code.

    The following modules are thought to meet the requirements. Each module is designated for 1 AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™ (cost to MSNJ members about $25.50 per credit)

    • Gaps and Elements of Care
    • Legal Issues
    • Whole Patient Assessment
    • Physician Assisted Suicide
    • Last Hours of Living
    • Withholding/Withdrawing Treatment
    • Medical Futility

    Choose two that meet your needs!

    Online CME:

    • CMEList.com attempts to coordinate websites that offers online activities designated for AMA PRA Credit™. Currently, there are more than 325 sites listed with over 13,500 separate activities and approximately 26,000 hours of credit.

    Live CME:

    • Check with your hospital(s) or specialty society for scheduled CME activities.

    Remedial CME:

    • Case Western Reserve University conducts the following live activities:
      • Intensive Course in Managing Difficult Communications in Medical Practice - Controlling Anger Avoiding Outbursts, Communicating Appropriately
        • November 13-15, 2013
        • March 12-14, 2014
        • November 12-14, 2014
      • Intensive Course in Medical Ethics, Boundaries and Professionalism
        • September 19-20, 2013
        • February 20-21, 2014
        • September 11-12, 2014
      • Intensive Course in Controlled Substance Prescribing - Pain, Anxiety, Insomnia
        • December 3-6, 2013
        • June 3-6, 2014
        • December 9-12, 2014
      • Intensive Course in Medical Record Keeping with Individual Preceptorships
        • November 7-8, 2013
        • May 8-9, 2014
        • November 6-7, 2014

    Please contact Case Western Reserve University for more information 1-216-983-1239.

    Physician's Recognition Award

    What is the MSNJ PRA Award?

    The Medical Society of New Jersey Physician’s Recognition Award (MSNJ PRA) acknowledges the achievement of those physicians who expand their knowledge and improve their skills by participating in continuing medical education (CME). The MSNJ PRA represents completion of a nationally accepted standard in continuing medical education. It has reciprocity with the American Medical Association’s (AMA) PRA and other medical education certificates. The MSNJ PRA is recognized by hospitals, insurance companies, and payers as proof of CME.


    Physician members of MSNJ in good standing who hold a valid and current license issued by the state of New Jersey are eligible to apply for the MSNJ PRA.

    Application Process

    MSNJ’s application provides information on the requirements to receive the PRA. The learning experiences must have taken place in the thee years immediately preceding the date on which the application is signed for a three year certificate. Download the application below and send it to MSNJ, 2 Princess Road, Lawrenceville, NJ, 08648, to the attention of Ruth Zarzycki. Please allow two to three weeks to process your application. Recipients of the PRA receive a formal certificate, suitable for framing. Display it proudly.

    If you have questions concerning the PRA, call Ruth Zarzycki at 609.896.1766, ext. 217, or e-mail rzarzycki@msnj.org.


    MSNJ CME Accreditation Program

    2013 - 2014 Reaccreditation Self-Study Documents - Please contact rzarzycki@msnj.org if you have any questions.

    1. Guide to the Process for MSNJ Reaccreditation: Overview and Submission Requirements
    2. Outline for the Self-Study Report
    3. Demographic Information Form
    4. Performance in Practice - Documentation Review Labels
    5. Example Documentation Review Reporting Form
    6. Activities List Form
    7. Budget Form


    Accreditation Criteria

    For additional information and education about the Updated Accreditation Criteria and the system of CME, please visit the ACCME website. You will find frequently asked questions under the “ASK ACCME” tab, as well as Video FAQ’s and Video Interviews under the “Education and Training” tab that provide insight and explanations for the accreditation criteria and the system of CME.


    As is always the case, the MSNJ reserves the right to modify and improve the resources and tools used in the accreditation process so as to ensure credible and valid accreditation decisions.

    Copyright © 2014 . All Rights Reserved
    All material, files, logos and trademarks within this site are properties of their respective organizations.
    Terms of Use - Privacy Policy - Contact